MTN Board: Ernest Ndukwe succeeds retiring Paschal Dozie as Chairman

MTN board and logo
Dr. Paschal Dozie

PIONEERING Chairman of MTN Nigeria, Dr. Paschal Dozie and five other non-executive directors of the company are retiring from the company after 18 years on the MTN board, following the expiration of their tenure and in compliance with codes of Corporate Governance.

Making the announcement Wednesday, and in a notification to the Nigerian Stock Exchange (NSE), the Company Secretary, Mr Uto Ukpanah, in a statement said that the retirement would take effect on September 2.

The Company also announced the appointment of Mr Ernest Ndukwe as the Chairman designate of the MTN board and the addition of the following directors with effect from September 2. 

The out going directors are Dr. Pascal Dozie, Chairman; Col. Sani Bello (rtd), Vice Chairman; Chief Victor Odili, non-Executive Director. Other non-executive directors are Malam Ahmed Dasuki; Mr Babatunde Folawiyo, Mr Gbenga Oyebode.

Ernest Ndukwe, Chairman Designate

Paying tribute to the outgoing directors, the Chief Executive Officer MTN Nigeria, Ferdinand Moolman said, “our journey over the last 18 years has been incredible, and it would not have been possible without the initial entrepreneurial spirit of our founding directors, and their unfailing and dedicated support for MTN Nigeria’s vision over the years.

“I could not have asked for a more supportive, knowledgeable and experienced group of advisors.”

Looking back, Dozie said, ”in 2001, when I made the first call on the MTN Nigeria network, I don’t think anyone envisaged the pace and scale of growth that we, and the broader telecoms sector would achieve over the next 18 years.

“It is a unique story that we are immensely proud of, and having served as chairman of MTN Nigeria for all of those 18 years, I achieved a long-held ambition earlier this year, when MTN Nigeria listed on the NSE, providing an opportunity for a wider pool of Nigerians to become investors in the company.

“I cannot think of a better time to be handing over the reins of the company to a new Chairman, and to a new group of distinguished Nigerian Directors.

“Not only is this in line with best practice, which we are fully committed to, as a member of the premium board of the NSE, it is also absolutely aligned to the company’s future.”

Dozie welcome the incoming directors, saying that, “they have a hugely exciting future in front of them, and I believe the opportunity to make the next 18 years even more successful than the last.”

According to the Company the incoming MTN board will comprise: Dr Ernest Ndukwe, Chairman Designate, Mr Ferdinand Moolman- Chief Executive Officer, Mr Michael Onochie Ajukwu – Independent Non-Executive Director, Mr Muhammad K. Ahmad, OON -Independent Non-Executive Director.

Others listed are Mr Andrew Alli – Non-Executive Director, Mr Rhidwaan Gasant, Independent Non-Executive Director; Mrs Omobola Johnson, Non-Executive Director; Mr A.B. Mahmoud, OON, Non-Executive Director; Mr Ralph Mupita, Non-Executive Director.

Others also are Mr Paul Norman, Non-Executive Director; Mrs Ifueko Okauru, MFR, Non-Executive Director; Mr Jens Schulte-Bockum, Non-Executive Director; Mr Rob Shuter, Non-Executive Director; and Mr Karl Toriola, Non-Executive Director.

Ferdinand Moolman, MTN CEO

Moolman told the incoming directors that, “the technology industry is fast-moving, and our next 18 years offer a wealth of new and exciting opportunities as a fully digital operator.

“Their combination of extensive experience across the worlds of technology, finance, regulatory and policy development and corporate governance offers a hugely synergistic set of skills that will be of great benefit to us as we move into a new phase of growth.”


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.