Ikpeazu sacks Commissioner, TC chairman, names nominees

Okezie Ikpeazu, Abia State governor

ABIA State Governor, Okezie Ikpeazu has sacked the Commissioner for Transport, Ekele Nwohammuo and the Transistion Committee Chairman of Umunneochi Local Govwrnment Area, Matthew Ibe.

Affected by the sack are the Transition Committee chairmen of Aba North and Aba South local government areas, Victor Ubani and Cherechi Wogu, respectively.

Also, the General Manager of Traffic and Indiscipline Management Agency of Abia State (TIMAAS), Mr Smart Uwakwe, was suspended from office.

The development was announced on Sunday by the governor’s Chief of Staff, Dr. ACB Agbazuere, who said that both the sack and suspension were with immediate effect.

According to the statement: “The Transition Committee Chairman of Umuneochi local government area,Mathew Ibe, was equally relieved of his appointment.”

Meanwhile, the governor, according to Agbazuere, has named Tony Nwanmuo, Godswill Nwonoruo as commissioner nominees. 

Ikpeazu also approved the appointment of his Senior Special Adviser on Communication and Strategy, Ezechikamnayo, as Transition Committee chairman nominee for Umuneochi Local Government Area, to replace Ibe.

According to the Chief of Staff, “deputy chairmen of the affected local government areas are to take over and together with their Heads of Service, immediately set up a taskforce to check environmental indiscipline and other vices.” 

“TIMASS taskforce is also to be setup to further check these excesses,” he added.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here