Women World Cup: USA beat Netherlands to win record 4th trophy

Women World Cup Champions
Four-time World Cup Winners….

FOR the first time on European soil, the USA women football team, produced yet another strong performance to win the FIFA Women World Cup, for a fourth record time, joining Germany as the only nation that has defended the trophy.

In Lyon, France, Sunday, the US women’s soccer team beat an impressive Netherlands, the European Champions, two nil.

Despite their status as European Champions, the Dutch team came into the finals as underdogs after the defending champions had brushed aside hosts France 2-1 and England 2-0 in the semifinals. Ahead of the finals, the USA have never lost to Netherlands in the two occasions they played, the most recent meeting was a 3-1 victory in a friendly in 2016.

It was the second straight World Cup title for the US after claiming the title in the maiden championship in 1991. The USA went ahead to win in 1999, 2015, and successfully defending the trophy in 2019.

In front of a capacity crowd of 59,000, the US team showed its dominance of women’s football, defusing the resilience of the European champions to open scoring through a 61st minute penalty after a foul on Alex Morgan and in the 69th minute, Lavelle sealed victory with a well taken goal.

Said Rabino: “It’s surreal. I don’t know how to feel. It’s ridiculous.”

The Netherlands, became the first team in France to keep the USA team from scoring in the the first  45 minutes.

A delighted US coach, Jill Ellis, who is the first coach to win consecutive Women World Cup titles said,  “They put their heart and soul into this journey, and I can’t thank them enough.”

US Coach, Ellis talking with her team after the final


FIFA’s president, Gianni Infantino, and France’s president, Emmanuel Macron, presented the medals to the winners. 

Rapinoe won the Golden Boot as the top scorer and the Golden Ball as the tournament’s outstanding player; England full-back Lucy Bronze was second and Rapione’s team mate Rose Lavelle came third. 

The Dutch goalkeeper Sari van Veenendaal won the Golden Glove and shared the best young player award with Germany’s Guilia Gwinn.

For the Golden Boot award, Rapinoe tie with teammate Alex Morgan on six goals each and three assists. In Rapinoe’s favor was the fact that she scored in goals having spent less playing time than Morgan. England’s Ellen White was third with six goals, after having goals disallowed in the semi-final and third-place play-off.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here