How Buhari was re-elected for another 4 years

    President Muhammadu Buhari

    PRESIDENT Muhammadu Buhari has been re-elected for another four years after the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) declared the winner of the Presidential election and affirmed that he polled the highest number of votes in the last Saturday‘s election.

    The INEC  Chairman Prof. Mahmood Yakubu, in the early hours of Wednesday declared Buhari, the All Progressives Congress (APC) candidate re-elected after he polled 15, 191, 847 votes. The presidential candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP), Atiku Abubakar came second with 11, 212, 973 votes. 

    The difference between the winner, given the overall result is 3, 928, 868 votes.

    Abubakar, who was defeated by 3, 928, 868 votes, roundly beat the President in the South East and some parts of the South-South, but Buhari upset him  in parts of the North. The President won in 19 States, while Abubakar won in 17 States, including FCT, Abuja.

    A total of 73 presidential candidates participated in the election.

    For a candidate to be declared winner in the presidential election, the Electoral Law stipulates that he must garner the total number of votes cast and record a spread – of not less than 25 per cent votes in at least two third of the States of the federation.

    PDP Kicks

    The PDP has rejected the result of the presidential polls. The Coalition of United Political Parties (CUPP) has also rejected the results, and released it’s own version of the results. 

    In statement Wednesday, singed by its spokesman, Ikenna Imo Ugochinyere, the association stated that Abubakar won the election by a margin of 2 million votes and called on INEC to reverse itself. 

    Complaints of irregularities had trailed the election across the country. Co. On complaints included the failure of the smart card readers, underage voting, and multiple ballot thump printing, vote buying


    Please enter your comment!
    Please enter your name here